Lucy Letter 


She’s known me my whole life. She used to sleep 3 feet above me. She’s my best mate and she’s also my sister. 

This year my sister Lucy has committed to writing and sending #LettersOfGratitude to some special people in her life. I very gratefully received mine a few weeks ago. At the time I wasn’t in a great place emotionally. I was raw, very tearful and had a really sad heart. So much difficult stuff was going on and as much as I knew her words might lift me up, I just couldn’t open her letter. 

I popped it away and it sat unopened. Until today. 

It’s a beautiful letter that I will treasure. 

It just so happens that my sis currently needs a little bit of cheering up and as luck would have it, it’s also National Letter Writing Month. What better way to mark the occasion & hopefully bring a smile than to reply to her brilliant letter right here? Sorry you don’t get to decide to read this when you’re ready sis…

Look at me breaking ALL the celebration rules (it’s meant to be a handwritten letter…I’m SUCH a rebel) 

Dear Lucy

I read your letter today & I cried. 

By the time I had finished I was almost deee-hyyyyy-drated. 

It feels like we’ve cried together so much recently and I know that sadly there will be a few more tears & challenges to come. But equally, we share just as many laughs and adventures and this is probably what I love the most about having a sister like you. 

Lucy & Kate’s Top 5 Adventures

1. New York, New York. When we thought EVERYONE on the Staten Island ferry would be wearing Statue of Liberty dress-up tat (literally no-one else was) We looked so ridiculous that other tourists asked to pose for photos with us. My bra had also just set off the security alarms. We were lucky to be given clearance to board. Our bagel-filled bellies ached from laughing so hard. 
2. Vegas baby Vegas. Existing entirely on vodka, Celine Dion, red bull, wings & ‘slaw. Partying with an American Idol winner. Momentarily falling asleep in the midnight Penn & Teller magic show (and waking up to gunshots) “We’ll sleep when we’re dead!”
3. Dublin. Sliding down the bannister at the Guinness factory after a few pints of the black stuff, then heading straight to the Jameson’s whiskey tasting. 
4. Paris. Our picnic & photoshoot at the top of the Eiffel Tower. Singing Daft Punk. Wearing stripey tops. Buying berets. (Fair play, we always commit to embracing local culture) 
5. Not all of our adventures are far from home….Remember accidentally making our way into a VIP drinks reception behind Ronan Keating and his wife? “Act natural. Drink the champagne.”

We have so many happy memories to look back on & I know in the years to come we’ll make so many more too. I absolutely love spending time with you and no matter where we are, we’ll always have something to talk about, laugh at and some mischief to make. 

You might have wanted a telephone instead of a little sister. You might have resented having me tag along to all of your dates (1984-1990) You might have threatened to cut all of my fingernails off whilst I was sleeping. But I hope that by now I’ve redeemed myself and we’re all good? 

I’ve learned so much from looking up to you. You taught me dance routines to the Fame album in the front room. You told me all about periods in Cardiff Bus Station. You made me reluctantly play schools with you for HOURS. (I deserve career credit for this) You stuck glitter stars on my face & introduced me to eyebrow plucking & Lipcote. You made me sing the other man parts in Stay (when we both know I was the better Barry Manilow) You let me pop your bubblegum when I wasn’t allowed to have it. You let me hold your thumb when I couldn’t get to sleep. You got us backstage at my first ever gig (Chesney Hawkes, Newport Centre, 1991. I’d shouted out in a quiet ballad part like I’d seen on the Karen Carpenter TV movie because I thought that’s what people did at concerts….and you didn’t disown me) 

You were the first person I called when I found out I was going to be a Mum. 

And when my living room flooded. 

You have always stuck by me, cheered for me, supported me, counselled me and motivated me. And I hope you know that I’m always here to do all of that for you in return. I am so lucky to have you. We all are. 

I will always laugh when I’m wearing no make-up and people think you’re my Mum. Even more so when it means I get a free Under 15s breakfast at the Premier Inn and you book an urgent appointment for Botox. 

I admire the way you always knew what you were going to be when you grew up (I’m still figuring it out for myself) I admire the way you have brought up your two gorgeous boys single-handedly and given them the very best of everything. I admire how sassy, kind, generous, caring and loving you are. I admire your dedication to our strong little family. I admire your loyalty, commitment & passion for inspiring children to be the very best they can be. I admire the huge impact you’ve had – and continue to have – on thousands of little people whose futures are significantly better because of you and who will never forget you. I admire your expert cartwheels and am secretly jealous that I’ve never been able to pull off gym-elastics in the same way you effortlessly do. 

Thank you for my letter. Sorry it’s not a handwritten reply. Hope you can forgive that. Your wish for me is everything I wish for you too. Happiness, health and love in abundance. Someone to adore you, appreciate every bit of joy you share with the world & always have your back. (Plus do the bins & pick up milk on the way home….and at 50% of this you’re even easier to please than I am!) 

Here’s to all our future adventures, to laughing, dancing & growing old together; to always having a shoulder to cry on & to never ever forgetting the words to Starmaker or the routine to One Step Further. 

Love you always

Kate x 

2 thoughts on “Lucy Letter 

Leave a Reply

