Anne of Green Gables – L.M Montgomery

20140326-144439.jpg

I think I was about 10 or 11 when I first Anne of Green Gables.

Immediately Anne (with an e) was a bosom buddy and I too fell hopelessly in love with Gilbert Blythe.

I don’t remember ever owning any more of the books in the series, but I’ve since gone back and read them as an adult. I would absolutely love to own a complete set. I’m sure one day I will find one. (I have a feeling I will find it in Hay on Wye)

You can see on my battered copy where I have ‘indexed’ it with a slick of tippex…this was when I was going through my librarian phase and I had to keep my bookshelves organised. I have since developed a greater understanding of my own self (way too loud for a library) and a non-tippexed filing system for my books!

>

20140326-144738.jpg

Anne Shirley has been a lifelong friend. The warmth and innocence of a childhood well lived. I still work hard for red hair and look forward to my freckles appearing on my face in the sunshine.

Pour a glass of cordial and enjoy.

Gorgeous stuff.
>

5 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables – L.M Montgomery

  1. Also checking in from A-Z. Can you believe I’ve never read Anne of Green Gables? Now I want to and just may scare up a copy! Looking forward to seeing what other books I will have to add to the “to read” list!!

  2. I have loved Anne since I was 12! Just started re-reading the series last week. I might be 39, but Anne is timeless, her books a soothing balm to my contemporary soul.

    Visiting from A to Z.

Leave a Reply

