Big Ballet

20140202-183921.jpg

I love dancing. I love fat. I love fat people dancing.

The sheer expression of joy in your body, no matter what size, is so incredible. I’m sad that more fatties avoid dancing because of fear and shame.

I know how that feels.

Imagine my delight to read that my favourite combination of joy is about to hit our TV screens this very week!

Big Ballet starts on Channel 4 this Thursday at 9pm. Following the journey of ballet novices (who happen to be fat) as they fulfil their dream of performing Swan Lake.

I have high hopes for this.

I also have a few fears too. Often the idea of fat ballerinas has been used as a comedic set-up and there’s a great deal of teasing opportunity. I haven’t seen any of the show yet (apart from the trailer above) but I’m remaining hopeful that Channel 4 have dealt with this sensitively and with the unashamed freedom and happiness it deserves.

An opportunity to shift opinion, rebalance the anti-fat argument and inspire other fat people to feel their own joy, live their dreams and shed nothing more than their fears and inhibitions.

Here’s hoping. Watch with me?

Photo credit:
© Andyrossy1 | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

<a

20140223-212200.jpg

Leave a Reply

