B is for Bubbly

I get described as “bubbly” quite a lot.

I’ll be honest, I hate it.

I have lots of energy, talk animatedly, and generally have limitless enthusiasm for what I’m doing (or why else would I be doing it?)

Bubbly
1. containing bubbles
2. (of a person) full of cheerful high spirits

The Urban Dictionary has the following definition

a really happy,perky,kind of annoying person at times.Its one of those people who wake you up in the morning really perky and you just wanna smack them in the face

Yeah. That’s me. I make no apologies.

Bubbles are empty and temporary. They are fun but fragile. They are also round.

Are you starting to see why I might not like to be described in this way?

My own negative association turns a fairly accurate description (I can’t deny, it fits me like a plus size glove) into something unpleasant and unintended.

The next time this happens I am going to imagine a tall, chilled bottle of champagne. Exclusive, expensive and decadent.

No-one wants to be empty and round.

Call me fizzy, effervescent, energetic, enthusiastic, passionate.

Call me baby! Just not bubbly.

Here’s Colbie Collait. Enjoy this lovely bubbly tune on this lovely sunny evening.

www.freedigitalphotos.net

5 thoughts on “B is for Bubbly

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever called you bubbly, but if I have, I promise I meant it in the loveliest, most effervescent way possible and have never wanted to smack you in the face 🙂

  2. Hrmmm – I thought I had commented on this already but now methinks I was perhaps being a bit incompetent… anyway, suffice to say, I love your ‘B’ and if I’ve ever called you ‘bubbly’ before, I promise I meant it only in the loveliest way imaginable!!

Leave a Reply

