100 days

Hanne Blank is an amazing woman.

We’ve never met but she feels a tiny bit like a best friend.

Hanne’s book “Big Big Love” which looks at fat sex and relationships, had such a massive impact on me, so much so that I feel reading it should be compulsory. (It is on the Essential Reading List for my boyfriends anyway…”Come back when you’ve read this, you’ll understand me better”)

Her latest book “The Unapologetic Fat Girl’s Guide to Exercise and other Incendiary Acts” is now on my wish-list prior to its release on Monday and I just know it will speak to me in the same way that BBL did. (Am I sounding like a complete fan-girl? Sorry)

Anyway, gushing aside…a few days ago I read about her 100 day challenge

In a nutshell, you decide on one or more new actions you will commit to doing with your body for 100 days.

I like challenges! I also like that Hanne herself has chosen belly dancing and singing (See? I told you we could be BFFs)

100 days is a fairly long time and I wanted to choose something both achievable and FUN (I know if I choose sit-ups I will be miserable) so after careful consideration I made my decision.

Starting TODAY for the next 100 days……when I get up in the morning, I will pick one song and DANCE.

I might be pogo-ing to a punk number or doing the Okey-Cokey, it doesn’t matter! What matters is that I am making an easy, fun and enjoyable commitment to my body that isn’t painful, punishing or problematical. And that’s what it’s all about! (*clap clap clap*)

I am a busy working Mum. Time is precious. But dancing to ONE song everyday…who can’t fit that in?

Music plays a massive part in my little family. It fills our home with joy and our ‘kitchen discos’ are LEGENDARY (there are just two of us…sometimes we pretend we’re in a nightclub…) Those of you following me will know that I have previously shared my love of dancing in Basketballs. What a great way to make friends with my body again!

I really like the idea of setting an energetic, positive tone for my day and because I also really like lists, I’m going to publish my music selections (in case you want to dance along with me – My Spotify ‘dance’ playlist will be coming soon)

Combining things which make me happy, being kind to my body, reaching a 100 day goal……it all seems pretty brilliant from where I’m dancing.

Leave a Reply

